Here's a fun hockey rules scenario: what if an umpire is ready to award a foul or needs to consult a colleague about a foul in their circle and time expires before they can blow their whistle? Find out on this #RuleyTuesday!
Is there a hockey rule that really grinds your gears? Reply or comment below, slide in the DMs, or launch the carrier pigeon. For more in-depth conversations, check out the #UmpireAtHome series of videos too!
#tuesdaytip #hockey #fieldhockey #hockeyumpire #fieldhockeyumpire #rules #umpirelife #thirdteam #FIH #FIHumpire #rulesofhockey #rulesoffieldhockey #hockeyumpiring #fieldhockeyumpiring
Hi friends, I’m Keely Dunn of FHumpires. Here’s another Ruley Tuesday, a hot take on just one rule in the book.
Today’s little bundle of rulesy joy comes courtesy of Lee Newsham on Twitter when he asks:
Can an umpire make a decision after time has expired? Spoiler alert: YES. Let’s dance!
Rule of Hockey 5.1
So the rule we’re talking about today is the rarely-invoked 5.1:
If time expires just before an umpire would otherwise have made a decision, umpires are permitted to make that decision immediately after the end of the quarter.
Sounds like common sense, right? Here’s an example of this in action.
The Rule In Action
Here, India were defending a one-goal advantage in the dying seconds when a crash ball was mishandled by a defender inside the circle off her foot, leading the umpire to call a penalty corner after the hooter sounded. Despite the foul language coming out of the coach and his refusal to allow his players to defend the last play of the game, it was absolutely the correct decision.
Here’s another call that shouldn’t have been controversial: the end of the Canada vs Ireland Olympic Qualifier. (I swore off this clip, dammit!) Not the decision, but the part where it was properly gone back to. Here, in the dying seconds, an attacker is driving the left side of the circle. The defender clips the attacker and brings him to the ground. The whistle for the end of time goes seconds after without a foul being awarded, and a video referral is granted.
Should You Ignore Your Watch? Ever?
Lee also asks whether an umpire should play on a little after their watch beeps, i.e. if a goal chance is imminent.
I don’t know much about football but I hear it’s done in that sport. Hockey is different. We keep as precise of time as possible, stopping and restarting our watches when required by the rules. There is no rule anywhere which allows you to ignore your watch in case a team could score in the 61st or 71st minute of the game. DO NOT OPEN UP A WORMHOLE.
Good News, You Know Stuff About a Rule Now
So, unlike the head coach of a major hockey power, you now know if time expires just before an umpire would have awarded a foul that occurred before that time expiration, they should still make the call, and you learned it here on Ruley Tuesday.
Thanks for watching and being you. Do you have an inquiry for our next #RuleyTuesday? FHumpires is very social on the medias so comment, reply, DM—you do you. If you’re enjoying these “petite foray” into the rules, you can buy me a poutine with a $3/month FHU Third Team Blue membership. Check that out at fhu3t.com.
Chau for now!