Read between the lines and get those 5m infringements on free hits outside the 23m line sorted once and for all on this #RuleyTuesday!
Hey third team friends! I’m Keely Dunn of FHumpires with another Ruley Tuesday, a hot take on one rule in the book.
Today we’re talking free hits awarded just outside the 23m area and a 5m infringement occurs inside of the 23m line. Ready to read between the lines? Let’s do this.
I recently engaged in a discussion revolving around what we do when a free hit is given just outside the 23m, and a defender commits a 5m infringement which occurs inside the 23m area. What’s the correct award? Is it a free hit and likely card? Or is it a penalty corner because it “happened” inside the 23m (and maybe a card)? It’s one we intuitively know but can get ourselves in a spot of bother if we think about it. Side note: don’t think. It never works out for you. 😉
Big thanks to Lee Barron and Rob Ten Cate for their thoughts on this one.
Rules of Hockey 13.2(b), 12.2(a), 12.3(c)
Here are the rules. First off, 13.2(b) requires that for free hits,
…opponents must be at least 5m from the ball. If an opponent is within 5m of the ball, they must not interfere with the taking of the free hit or must not play or attempt to play the ball. If this player is not playing the ball, attempting to play the ball or influencing play, the free hit need not be delayed.
Next up, we check in with rule 12.2(a):
(a) A free hit is awarded for an offence by any player between the 23m areas.
(c) a penalty corner is awarded for an intentional offence by a defender outside the circle but within the 23m area they are defending.
The correct answer is: if a defender interferes with the taking of a free hit that starts outside the 23m, that’s another free hit (if advantage isn’t better) and a card (in many to most situations). Now here’s why.
This infringement is one of those instances that we’re not giving the foul according to technically where the infringement occurs. Instead, it’s according to the placement of the ball.
Here’s a hypothetical comparison. If an attacking teammate is within 5m of a free hit just outside the 23m, it’s not a foul if they’re standing in front of, or inside the 23m. It’s only a foul if the BALL starts in front of the 23.
Here’s another one: what if the ball starts 2m outside the 23 and the infringing defender is only 1m away? They would get a lesser penalty than a player who starts 3m away and therefore INSIDE the 23m area. That doesn’t fit with our game sense and the notion that the award has to line up with the magnitude of the foul.
Throw Me a Line!
Did this #RuleyTuesday help unblur those blurred lines? Let me know in the comments, and drop a line with your rule book questions. If you liked it, why not send it down the line to a friend and share the knowledge? Also, you can throw me a line with a $3 monthly Blue membership. Head to fhu3t.com and join the FHumpires Third Team!
Chau for now!
#tuesdaytip #hockey #fieldhockey #hockeyumpire #fieldhockeyumpire #rules #umpirelife #thirdteam #FIH #FIHumpire #rulesofhockey #rulesoffieldhockey #hockeyumpiring #fieldhockeyumpiring