Time to test your understanding of the free hit interpretations! Players have twigged to this play, as we saw it at the World League Semi-Finals in Antwerp and will undoubtedly see much more of it as videos like this spread virally. The question for all you smarty umpires is: what’s the correct call?
Here’s the play: first attacker only slightly touches the ball, second attacker from >5m away picks up the ball and enters the circle and is tackled by a defender who was lined up stationary and *inside* the 5m zone from the free hit. (Via Antonio Bustos, Facebook)
As always, it helps to go back to the source. Re-read rule 13 and the recently-released FIH guidance on dealing with free hits inside the dotted line.
Let’s hear it!